Defending Wine, and Stuff.

a cape vinyardI met a friend and a friend of my friend for a drink.  I hailed the waiter and said to friend of friend ‘Would you like something’?  She said, in that  – I’m so much closer to God than you – sort of way “I don’t drink”.   I had this urge to Shabir Sheik her.  You know, grab her round the throat and slap her about.  I didn’t do that.  It would have been rude.  I smiled.

“I don’t drink”.  She drinks juice, or water or fizzie crap or tea or something.  She drinks.  So she doesn’t drink alcohol, so what?  I didn’t order for her.  I said to the waiter, “Ok, so she won’t have anything and I’ll have an iced tea, and my friend had a coffee”.  That wasn’t nice of me, but damn. Who said I was nice?  I’d been dealing with government departments on the phone since the morning and her attitude of superiority was a really unwelcome addition at the end of a seriously frustrating day.

Does the dearth of oenological education that she is boasting about set her a cut above everyone else? It does not. Is the enjoyment of a cocktail or glass or two of wine a sign of moral degeneracy?  It is not.  The fact that there are people who abuse cheap liquor and get obnoxiously drunk is not our business.  Wine is an art and a pleasure. It stands to reason that if you’re going to drink alcohol, you should drink excellently.  Stay away from cheap liquor.  It is practically uncivilised not to enjoy a good wine with ones meal and I don’t mean an under-average bottle of plonk, either.  Wine is wonderful!wine

I bought the Callanetics DVD.  One of the women demonstrating has disfigured feet.  They wear three quarter  length tracksuit pants and her feet are clearly visible.  I find that odd.  I mean here you are with a DVD promoting bodily perfection and you have a woman with disfigured feet.  They look like they have recovered from severe burns.   They are hideously scarred.  Everyone demonstrating should look like every woman on her living room floor dreams of looking.  This is marketing, after all.  Her feet are not the point, I know.  But it is unsightly. callanetics In the American DVD they all look like the Callanetics success story.  They are beautiful, and slender and they wear make up.  Well, I guess that’s the American way.  Is the South African way disfigured feet?

What’s mostly on my mind, of course, is work. But I can’t talk about that in the blog.  Well, I could and I would if I were less discreet.  However, discretion being the better part of valour and all of that etcetera means that I can’t vent a work vent on my blog.  The blog is for light subjects.  Shame, because I could vent up a storm if I wasn’t afraid that someone would read it and it would come back and bite me in the bank balance.

What is this blog, anyway?  Maybe, in years to come, it will be my Autobiography of Desultory Ramblings – abridged.

About Tselane Tambo

I share myself in these desultory ramblings. It’s my thoughts and memories; some anecdotes and opinions. It’s an accidental autobiography. When you’ve meandered through these pages you’ll be within reach of a little piece of me. Thank you for dropping by.
This entry was posted in Nocturnal Ramblings of a Mind Unplugged. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Defending Wine, and Stuff.

  1. MissCassandraGud says:

    You should have punched her in the Guptas. I find Sheiking to never suffice with that type.

Leave a Reply

