Ground hog day

It’s like ground hog day.  Can we have ground hog week or ground hog month?   Actually, it’s starting to look like ground hog year!

Didn’t we have a situation last year and the year before where every single conceivable industry and sector went on strike?  It started pretty much like this too, didn’t it? One sector going on strike and then hot on their heels another sector joining them.  Then some totally unrelated sector is reminded that their lot is also pretty hellish and while the others are on strike they may as well join in.  Then come the sympathy strikers and they are followed by the ones who strike because they don’t want to be left out of the striking story and before you know it the whole nation is at a standstill; on strike.

In fact last year even I went on strike, well I went on a protest march about the fact that we didn’t have any work in our sector, but if we had had work we would have gone on strike from that work.  We had worked and we hadn’t been paid. We were told there wouldn’t be any more work.  We marched.

Everyone has the right to strike, isn’t that right?  It is written in the bill of rights.  When they say ‘everyone’ it’s unambiguous.  They mean ‘everyone’.  That being so, if I was the President, I’d go on strike.  In fact, I’d go one better.  I’d put all the ministers in my cabinet on strike and I’d put parliament on strike.  Then, I’d stand up in front of the Union Buildings and push in my nose with my finger and stick out my tongue and sing na na na na!

That would be my last word on the subject of striking and then I would close all the curtains and lock all the doors and just be on strike.  Yeah, how do you like them apples?

They’d have no one to negotiate with and no one to care about their marches and only when they had come to their senses and decided not to strike any more would I give up my strike and give them a hearing.  I mean what do they think this is?  A democracy?  Coming in here striking all over the place.  Damn cheek!  Huh! I’d show them.  – That’s why I’m not President.

Even the cops went on strike last year.  I mean how do you have the cops going on strike?  Who’s ever heard of that?  Thieves and vagabonds must have partied up a storm on that day.  And the army went on strike, didn’t they? Or was it just that they had a bit of a protest, like us TV workers.  Yes, we’re not celebrities anymore.  Oh no.   We’re too poor and unemployed to even think of retaining that lofty title.  We’re just lowly out of work TV workers who have much cause to strike except that we don’t have jobs.  We need jobs so we can go on strike. Darn, it’s tough!

 

“Workers of the world unite, you have nothing to lose but your chains”.  Is South Africa having a Marxist moment?  Are the workers uniting?  Is the rooi gevaar real?

About Tselane Tambo

I share myself in these desultory ramblings. It’s my thoughts and memories; some anecdotes and opinions. It’s an accidental autobiography. When you’ve meandered through these pages you’ll be within reach of a little piece of me. Thank you for dropping by.
This entry was posted in Nocturnal Ramblings of a Mind Unplugged. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

