I’m 50 & 2 hrs old. I’m nearly 51.

 

It’s 2am.  It’s March 14th.  I turned 50 yesterday.  Deyam!

“I hope that you are having an amazing time in SA and that you are enjoying your special day basking in the love of friends and family, surrounded by joy and happiness”.

I received this text message this evening from a friend in USA.  At the time I was doing exactly that.  I’m 50. People like to say that age is just a number.  Yes, I believe that’s true, but when that number is 50 I think it becomes a significant number it becomes something of a marvel. I have lived and survived and thrived and weathered many of life’s storms and  now I am 50 years old. Damn!  I congratulate myself for making it to this age; to this milestone.

I don’t know what 50 is supposed to feel like.  I don’t think there’s a prescription.  But I still remember when I used to think that 50 was ancient and now I’m here and I’m very far from ancient. I still feel so young.

I am so blessed to have people to love and be loved by.  I am fortunate to have a happy heart and a healthy body.  50 feels like a time for gratitude to God and Ancestors.

It would have been lovely if there was a thunder storm tonight. One of those ones that sound like God is having a rave. One of those that’s so loud it shakes the earth and the lightening show illuminates the sky and the heavens pour with torrential rain. That would be as though the elements were celebrating my 50 in the sexiest way they know how.

So, it’s March 14th 2012 and I am 50 years old and the world still turns and the sun still shines and all is well with the world.

About Tselane Tambo

I share myself in these desultory ramblings. It’s my thoughts and memories; some anecdotes and opinions. It’s an accidental autobiography. When you’ve meandered through these pages you’ll be within reach of a little piece of me. Thank you for dropping by.
This entry was posted in Nocturnal Ramblings of a Mind Unplugged. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m 50 & 2 hrs old. I’m nearly 51.

  1. masandapeter says:

    happy birthday star mate

  2. plaintain1 says:

    Congrats on getting there (I celebrated my 50th in Jordan) and Many Happy Returns!

Leave a Reply

